1964 (Murray Shugars)

April 7, 2009

My mother stood in the driveway
looking down like an ice-fisher, her legs
steaming from her broken sack of waters.
The Pontiac idled like a furnace in December.
Snow fell through the window
my father rolled down to yell,
Let’s fucking go, will you?

My mother has a scar, her stomach
opened like a window pried with a knife.
There was no struggle
when I was born. She slept.
The doctor lifted me like a small melon
clinging to the vine.

*

My friend Murray Shugars has a new chapbook out from Dos Madres Press. Fittingly, the the book opens with “1964,” a prelude to the other poems collected, which cling to those vines rooted deep within our own past, in the places we grew up.

Leave a Reply

